Sibelius First Demo: No Sound

Use this forum for all hardware and technical related issues (i.e. sound cards, etc.).
MarcDHall

Post by MarcDHall » Sun Jan 18, 2015 2:58 pm

Hi

New here. Just to set a context I have been making music for well over 15 years. I'm technically literate. I have used a few different DAWs. Recently I have decided that DAWs generally lack something that modern classical notation has. So I found Sibelius.

The demo simply produces no sound. Not even the metronome.

I have an external firewire Mackie interface using ASIO. This works fine. I can launch Ableton live and everything is good. I then close Live (making sure it is gone from the system tasks... the sound object doesn't like to be shared) open Sibelius and it doesn't make a sound no matter what combination of any setting I use.

The only support I can find is "have you selected your sound device from the drop down"... of course I have. "Are your headphones/speakers plugged in"...

Also, generally, Sibelius makes no sense to me. I mean from a user experience perspective. There is a "Playback Devices" window, it has a "Available devices" pane that lists a midi keyboard, a usb-midi interface and the MS Wavetable Synth. 3 of these aren't playback devices and the one that is, the MS WTS, won't activate. So it's not clear what this option is even for.

My audio interface is selected in the Audio Engine Options view, it shows a non-zero latency, but no sound is coming out to it. The correct channels are selected.

In Sibelius' internal mixer, the Click channel has activity, but none of the other channels do. Including the master.

Thanks in advance.

bobp

Post by bobp » Sun Jan 18, 2015 8:52 pm

If I remember correctly, the Sib First demo does not come with sounds. To download them takes hours at any download speed.