Recording notation through MIDI and Electronic Drums

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").
radaudiodesigns

Post by radaudiodesigns » Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:13 pm

Hi There,

I really hope you can help! Im a complete newbie to notation software, and looking for some advice.

I am trying to record drum notation using MIDI. The midi input is a Yamaha DTXtreme 3 drumkit, which i can use to send MIDI to either Cubase or Sibelius.

Im not quite sure how to set this up correctly, currently i have a few questions -

1. If i try to record directly into Sibelius 6, The notes enter the stave as the incorrect notes. I am unsure how to assign or map the correct pads(midi notes) to the correct lines. eg. I play the HiHat and it appears on the bottom line instead of the top.

2. When i do record directly into Sibelius 6, the notation is off time - standard quarter notes or eighth notes are showing as dotted swung notes and out of sync. Is there some sort of latency?

3. I can record Midi quite easily into cubase - from there i can also quantize the midi, so its in the correct timing etc. I am however, having difficulties importing the tracks into Sibelius 6. Do you save the files differently, or is there a different way to import? When i save a midi track in cubase, its saved as a .CPR file.

Sorry for the long post - hope you can help, id really appreciate it!

Thanks a mill
Ryan 8)

panhero

Post by panhero » Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:12 pm

I think I can help you out here, seeing as I intend to try this myself when I can afford it.