Help with some questions that have stumped me

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").
JasonBellx

Post by JasonBellx » Fri Sep 26, 2014 2:17 pm

Hi all

I am new to Sibelius 7 and I really look forward to getting to be proficient in it. I have spent a few hours aquainting myself with it - many answers have been found in this forum - but there a few seemingly very simple questions that I have been unable to find answers to. If anyone has any answers to them I would be most appreciative. I have spent a lot of time trying to figure them out.

1. How do I change the guitar palm mute symbol/font size? It is way too big by default, such that adding a PM to one note results in the P.M....... symbol covering the next notes that aren't to be palm muted. I have searched high and low for this answer!

2. From what I can gather, there is no provision for hammer and pull symbols, so you have to use slurs, then the fingering tool to write H or P. However, when I add a slur, the slur symbol is not added to the guitar tab numbers. Instead it is added way above on the note stems. How do I place slurs beneath the actual tab numbers, leaving the stems as they are pointing upwards, so it can be read properly?

3. How do I lock the score so that things can't be moved around? I am always accidentally moving things around, and it seems that every single element can be dragged somewhere with the mouse. How can I just have a fixed layout, where nothing can be dragged, with fixed number of bars per system, each bar being of equal length - totally fixed?

4. Is there any way to get the numeric keypad (to the right of most keyboards) to work? Is there a way to re-program the shortcuts somehow? Very strange that it doesn't work.