Page 1 of 1

Sibelius 7 First: Can I auto set number of bars per system?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 7:05 pm
by patmaddox
When I make a new project, Sibelius 7 First creates 10 bars per system. I'd like it to have 8 per system. I've done some searching and found suggestions to use "auto break" in the layout section... which I don't see in First.

Is there a way in First to make it automatically break every 8 bars?

Re: Sibelius 7 First: Can I auto set number of bars per syst

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:29 am
by andyg
Sibelius will automatically flow the music so that it uses what it considers to be the optimum number of bars per system- it's usually pretty good at this, but a little adjustment is sometimes needed to get the result you want. How many bars per system appear on an empty page is irrelevant to the final result. We usually recommend that users input everything first, then think about the layout and appearance afterwards.

Remember that First is very much a cut down version of the full product and there are a lot of things 'missing'.

It may be possible to create a Manuscript Paper that has an empty page showing 8 bars per system, by using line breaks and then saving as Manuscript Paper, or perhaps by exporting the result as a House File (assuming that First supports either of these options) but I can't see any point in doing this, bearing in mind my first paragraph - unless you want blank manuscript paper with 8 bars per system.

Re: Sibelius 7 First: Can I auto set number of bars per syst

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:54 pm
by patmaddox
I just tend to think in 4-8 bar segments, so that's why it's helpful for me to break up the page that way.

I didn't see any way to make First automatically break them up along those lines (although it seems like First v6 may have been able to, based on things I read). Sounds like it's a manual job for me then.