Speedy entry in Sibeius without a 10-key pad?

Discussion of converting to Sibelius from Finale.
glennsnoise

Post by glennsnoise » Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:07 pm

Hi. I'm basically brand new to Sibelius, but I'm really good with Finale. I LOVE Finale's speedy-entry function, where you choose a pitch on the staff with the arrow keys and use the number keys to determine the value of the note (7 for whole note, 6 for half note, etc.).

Sibelius has a function like this. I don't know exactly what it's called, but I've used it for one project. My question is this: it appears that, without a 10-key pad (i.e. with a laptop), this speedy-entry equivalent requires the user to click on a graphic keypad for each note entered. Is this REALLY how it's done? This "speedy" entry equivalent is no faster than the beginner's point and click entry function. Do I REALLY have to purchase a 10-key pad just so I can use this function in Sibelius?

Sebasian

Post by Sebasian » Sat Oct 25, 2008 9:52 pm

glennsnoise wrote: Do I REALLY have to purchase a 10-key pad
There are substitute keys for laptops (look it up in the Reference) or indeed you can define any keys you like as shortcuts.

Some users do find it helpful to buy an external numeric keypad (though not all of them work properly with Sibelius) because keyboard-only input in Sibelius is very fast (provided you throw away your mouse and really learn the keyboard!).

glennsnoise

Post by glennsnoise » Sun Oct 26, 2008 1:05 pm

What is the keyboard-entry function called on Sibelius? On Finale, it's called Speedy Entry. I couldn't find this in Sibilius. I also (per your email) looked up "laptop" and "substitute" in the help menu, and couldn't find anything. If I knew what the function was called, it might help narrow my search to find these substitute keys.

Sebasian

Post by Sebasian » Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:57 pm

glennsnoise wrote:What is the keyboard-entry function called on Sibelius? . . . . I also . . . ) looked up "laptop" .