Strange things are happenings to me

Discuss general Sibelius issues here. Get help with Sibelius and Sibelius Support.
jodiew1171

Post by jodiew1171 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:07 am

Hi, I'm a Finale user of 15 years and am trying to learn how to use Sibelius for my school. I am also a composer so I thought I would do a new piece using the software. So far, some things are great but strange things are happening and I have no control.. and I'm only 28 bars in!

1. Please, can anyone tell me WHY once I get to bar 29 I can no longer cut and paste into the score itself? It pastes the material into a new system. I am not doing anything different, it just seems that when I reach that bar, it goes haywire. I have tried deleting the bar, deleting it and all the bars to the end then adding new ones but nothing works. Help?

2. Suddenly the Staff name for Cornet 1/2 has placed itself in the middle of the score. Random and totally annoying. Any ideas?

3. The magnetic layout is fantastic, but it seems to be focused on each individual page. This makes for a very messy looking score. Any clues on how to create a uniform page format that recognises the magnetic changes made on one "stencil" page???

I find many things about Sibelius fantastic, but all of this on day 1 of trying to use it for real is a bit of a turn-off..

Your help would be sincerely appreciated.

Kind regards,

Jodie

andyg
Sibelius Version: 7.1.3 and 6.2
Operating System: Windows

Post by andyg » Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:28 am

None of this is normal behaviour for Sibelius!

So it's something to do with your set-up, the score you're working on, or what you're doing.

Firstly, operating system. If it's Mac OS 10.6.7, you've had it! You'll need to roll back to 10.6.6.

Secondly, was the score started from scratch, or was it imported/converted in some way?