Scanning problems

Discuss Photo Score issues here.
swervin

Post by swervin » Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:47 pm

I have Photoscore Professional and Sibelius 3.1. I'm really new at this. I tried scanning in a 4-part hymn written in piano style (SA in treble clef, TB in bass clef, with lyrics between staves). All sorts of problems. First, only two of the four verses showed up. Second, Sibelius thinks it is two separate staves not one piano part, so there's no bracket around the two staves. Third, the bass clef shows as another treble clef. I changed the bottom clef to bass clef, but now most of the notes are in red because Sibelius still thinks it's a treble clef instrument of some kind that I'm writing in the bass clef. Fourth, on playback it only plays the top staff. Ideas, anyone?

Iaincd

Post by Iaincd » Tue Mar 23, 2004 2:51 pm

One idea but not much help...

I have found Photoscore to be pretty poor at scanning. Get SharpEye Scanning software and it will be pretty much note perfect. You have to correct the occasional tuplet and some of the words, but it is far more accurate than Photoscore.

I have to concede I haven't tried the lastest incarnation of photoscore though.

The main drawback to SharpEye is that unless you have Sib 3 you will need to save as a midi file and then import which neccessitates checking all the clefs.

Iain

Peter Stutfield

Post by Peter Stutfield » Sat Oct 16, 2004 4:20 pm

I agree that creating midi files is a pain, because most of the music formatting is lost on reading back into Sibelius.

In theory, Sibelius 2.1 should read NIFF files. I am currently trying out Sharpeye, and it is certainly better than Photoscore lite at scanning. However, when I create a NIFF file, Sibelius 2.1 invariably fails to read it with the message:-

"This file contains an unexpected problem which prevents it being