changing metronome markings sibelius 6

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here.

changing metronome markings sibelius 6

Postby dcalfine » Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:02 pm

Hello! I am a new student of Sibelius 6 and so far it's quite easy to learn and use. However I'm wanting to find out if there is a way to change the starting metronome/tempo marking WITHOUT scrapping the score and starting over. I have looked in the references and cannot find instructions in this regard. Thanks so much for your assistance!
Keep a song in your heart, and make a joyful noise unto the Lord........
dcalfine
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:53 pm
Location: roanoke, va

Re: changing metronome markings sibelius 6

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: changing metronome markings sibelius 6

Postby fredoviola » Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:55 pm

dcalfine wrote:Hello! I am a new student of Sibelius 6 and so far it's quite easy to learn and use. However I'm wanting to find out if there is a way to change the starting metronome/tempo marking WITHOUT scrapping the score and starting over. I have looked in the references and cannot find instructions in this regard. Thanks so much for your assistance!


I have the same question actually. You know, for the time being you can use the slider in the playback controller which is on the bottom right. Moving that will change the playback metronome setting. But when you quit and reopen the song it will have returned to the prior setting. Like you, I would like to know how to change this permanently as well!
fredoviola
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Woodstock

Postby andyg » Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:35 pm

You lot don't look very hard, do you! :wink:

Metronome mark - Reference page 212.

Effects on playback - Reference page 263.

Both found in the Index at the back, btw!

Hope these help you, sure they will, but ask again if not.
User avatar
andyg
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: UK

metrnome marking/tempo

Postby dcalfine » Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:08 pm

Thanks for the answers Fredo & Andy. Andy we must have different manuals, as mine only has 140 pages! I checked the index again, and re metronome markings only found reference to the orginial score setup. No biggie, I'll just start the project over. I was just hoping for a cool button like the one that changes a concert score into a transposed score! Further into it I will insert new tempo texts.

take care,

david
dcalfine
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:53 pm
Location: roanoke, va

Re: metrnome marking/tempo

Postby fredoviola » Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:16 pm

I think he's referring to the much longer reference document, which you can access online under HELP > DOCUMENTATION.

Andy, I thank you as well, but regarding the effects I was asking if there was a tape delay effect.

I'm sure that once I've mastered the program and manual Ill be able to create a solution myself, but as I have a deadline on this project and am just a beginner was reaching out to get a few hints. As always I'm quite grateful for any assistance, so again, thanks!

dcalfine wrote:Thanks for the answers Fredo & Andy. Andy we must have different manuals, as mine only has 140 pages! I checked the index again, and re metronome markings only found reference to the orginial score setup. No biggie, I'll just start the project over. I was just hoping for a cool button like the one that changes a concert score into a transposed score! Further into it I will insert new tempo texts.

take care,

david
fredoviola
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Woodstock

Postby andyg » Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:36 am

Yes, it's the Reference that's the one you should look at, either within the programme itself or as a a hard copy (from Amazon).

The shorter book's more of a 'starter'.
User avatar
andyg
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: UK

Re: changing metronome markings sibelius 6

Postby fredoviola » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:57 am

dcalfine wrote:Hello! I am a new student of Sibelius 6 and so far it's quite easy to learn and use. However I'm wanting to find out if there is a way to change the starting metronome/tempo marking WITHOUT scrapping the score and starting over. I have looked in the references and cannot find instructions in this regard. Thanks so much for your assistance!


Position your playback line at the start of the song. Goto PLUGINS > OTHER > SET METRONOME MARK and fill it in. Works like a charm!
fredoviola
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Woodstock

Postby zipperplug » Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:15 am

Sibelius is very confusing compared to Finale, but basically you have to think of it this way:

ESCAPE to get out of things,
CONTROL - click to get things.

That's all.

Control click where you want the MM.

type in like "=60"

where you would want a quarter note just hit Control click again but WHILE in the text typey mode. ANOTHER menu will appear which will allow you to add a quarter note.

So stupid but my boss needs me to use Finale.
-ZP
zipperplug
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 2:05 am

Postby andyg » Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:51 am

Sib does it thus for yout example:

Ctrl+Alt+M
Click where you want the marking
Ctrl+4 (on keypad), then = 60
Esc

I'd say about two second max, and no menus whatsoever.

If you say that Sib is confusing compared to Finale, then you haven't yet learnt how Sib works! :)
User avatar
andyg
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: UK



Similar topics


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests






Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Sibelius Books - Links - About - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2014 by C.M. Press, LLC