Short questions

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").
Post Reply
oleedd
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:49 pm
Sibelius Version: 8
Operating System: Windows

Short questions

Post by oleedd » Sun Dec 18, 2022 8:20 am

1) No default hotkeys for note lengths? Only to set them manually?
2) How to put a stem there? It adds an additional note head.
Image
3) What hotkey to select the chord when 1 note head of it is selected?
4) What hotkey to select note heads from this to this?
Image

Re: Short questions

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

MikeLyons
Posts: 1481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2021.12/7.5/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by MikeLyons » Mon Dec 19, 2022 3:41 pm

oleedd wrote:
Sun Dec 18, 2022 8:20 am
1) No default hotkeys for note lengths? Only to set them manually?

Use the keypad numbers 1 - 6 plus the . If you're on a Mac and don't have a numpad, get one.
2) How to put a stem there? It adds an additional note head.
You are working in two voices.You can't have a real stem between two different voices, so you have to put two notes, using a silent notehead (select then [shift][alt]9 to make it silent) In this case, the 9 is from the digits at the top of the keyboard. Use the inspector to shift the x coordinate of the upper note until it is on top/under the voice 2 note.
Image
3) What hotkey to select the chord when 1 note head of it is selected?
I see no chords. To select all notes in a chord, double click one of the notes, being careful not to move the mouse in between clicks.
4) What hotkey to select note heads from this to this?
If you want to select all of the notes between the two arrowed ones in your image, click the first and [chift]click the 2nd or simply click in an empty part of the bar.
Image
overlapping.png
overlapping.png (6.39 KiB) Viewed 429 times
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2022.7, Windows 11, 32GB RAM, 16TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

oleedd
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:49 pm
Sibelius Version: 8
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by oleedd » Wed Dec 21, 2022 12:44 pm

1, 3) It works, thanks.
2) Understood. No way to automatically unite 2 the same note heads?
4) With [shift], it selects time slot, not just note heads. Can I select only note heads directly?
5) Is there changing note lengths with offset? For example, I change 8-ths to 16-ths:
Image

oleedd
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:49 pm
Sibelius Version: 8
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by oleedd » Tue Jan 17, 2023 4:23 pm

5) It even changes the number of notes:
Image
How to fix (make offset)?

MikeLyons
Posts: 1481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2021.12/7.5/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by MikeLyons » Thu Jan 19, 2023 4:14 pm

A lot depends on the order in which you do things. If you select 8 semiquavers over 2 beats and then press 3, Sibelius thinks you want to convert them into quavers in situ and will do that, overwriting the existing notation.

If you want to change the size of a group of notes, use the plugins "copy double note values" and "copy halve note values" .

As to the other question, it depends what you ant to do with the selected notes/noteheads.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2022.7, Windows 11, 32GB RAM, 16TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

oleedd
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:49 pm
Sibelius Version: 8
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by oleedd » Sat Jan 21, 2023 3:01 pm

I tried with selecting the whole measure to let understand that I want to fill it, but Sibelius is not so smart.
The plugin is not handy, it doesn't change directly. And it is not about double/halve, I want just to replace duration. So every note (any duration) has to become a quaver.

To change their duration or drag them (up/down).

MikeLyons
Posts: 1481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2021.12/7.5/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by MikeLyons » Sat Jan 21, 2023 4:14 pm

You do know that you can assign the plugins to their own shortcuts?
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2022.7, Windows 11, 32GB RAM, 16TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

oleedd
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:49 pm
Sibelius Version: 8
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by oleedd » Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:30 pm

It opens a new score with the result, doesn't replace in current...

andyg
Posts: 1645
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:55 pm

Re: Short questions

Post by andyg » Sun Jan 22, 2023 9:54 am

That is correct - it's a non-destructive change. So you simply work with the new score and then save it with the same name as the old one - or a new one if you want a backup with the old note values.

oleedd
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:49 pm
Sibelius Version: 8
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by oleedd » Sun Jan 22, 2023 5:29 pm

I need a direct way. Sibelius can't do some basic things.

MikeLyons
Posts: 1481
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2021.12/7.5/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Short questions

Post by MikeLyons » Mon Jan 23, 2023 4:16 pm

Be sure you are using the correct plugin. There is one that creates a new score, but there is another that copies the new notes to the clipboard so you can paste it.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2022.7, Windows 11, 32GB RAM, 16TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

Post Reply