How to make playhead reset? Mouse entry? Soundfonts?

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").
TWHansen

Post by TWHansen » Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:46 pm

I am brand new at Sibelius and attempting to migrate from my beloved Midisoft Studio 4 since apparently there's no way to get SoundFonts to work with it in Windows 7. I'm evaluating Finale as well but the shortcuts are so invasive in Finale that you can't even type a question in the Help bar. I figure I might as well switch music production over to the OSX side of my MacBook since everything else I do is there.

There are a couple of aggravating workflow things that are stopping me from even getting started here...

Firstly, how can I set playback so that the playhead automatically goes back to the beginning of the track or to the beginning of the measure I'm working on? My writing style depends heavily on trial-and-error. I want to throw some notes on the staff, hit "space" to play, "space" again to stop, make some tweaks, and then hit "space" to play it again. Presently, "space" to stop and start resumes from where it stops.

Second, is there a way to have it default to mouse entry of notes without having to tap N every time?

I will have loads of dumb questions after these, for sure.

I have no interest in publishing sheet music or drowning in formalized formatting. I'm not even crazy about having to work in a "page" layout; Studio 4 had a Scroll View that had each individual track lined up with unlimited length and unlimited number of tracks.

The music I've written is fairly SoundFont intensive; I had my XP machine set up with 20 banks of SoundFonts, some of which have up to 128 instruments and none of which conform to General Midi instrument naming conventions, and I could use any instrument from any bank at any time in the same MIDI notation project. I want to find a way to replicate this on the Mac.

-Tim Hansen

NeutronGirl

Post by NeutronGirl » Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:12 am