Sibelius 7 Guitar TAB Problem.

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").
Vercingetorix

Post by Vercingetorix » Sun Jul 21, 2013 4:19 am

Hello All,

I am very new to Sibelius having only got it in only the past week, a trial version. I got it for a specific purpose to create guitar tab for my beginner students and for another product I have mind.

Now the problem is this I want to create beginner lessons using only TAB, that is no standard notation at all. But I noticed that in doing just that that the stems (or flag) or whatever the technical term is, is that they are exactly the same for minim's and crotchets and it's just confusing to the couple of students I've tried it with, and it caught me out as well. I can accept that there is no stem, or whatever, used at all for semibreve's and quavers and semiquavers display fine. But the lack of differentiations between crotchets and minims is not good at all, so how do I change this in Sibelius 7 to make it look more obvious?

Help help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
V.

bobp

Post by bobp » Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:50 pm

I'm not sure that Sibelius will do what you want. I know that there are many different types of guitar tab formats. Some show rhythms and some so not. I think it is neat that Sibelius will create tab from notation at all. I teach my students to read notation, but that's just me. I do give them music that has both on them so that they can get ideas on fingering. But I don't always agree with tab I come across. I have short fingers, so many fingerings don't work for me.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop

KJ_Palmer
Sibelius Version: 6.2, 7.5
Operating System: Windows

Post by KJ_Palmer » Sun Jul 21, 2013 8:37 pm

There is a plugin that may be of use to you, called Circle TAB Half and Whole Notes, available from the Sibelius download page: http://www.sibelius.com/download/plugin ... ategory=25