Finding the best soft synth

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").
ScottBrownlee

Post by ScottBrownlee » Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:55 pm

Hi there. This is my first post on the forums. I've been using Sibelius 4 for many years, but at a pretty basic level, and I need some help!

I am trying to write my first film score. I might have access to a few musicians to record the parts for me in a studio, but I expect the majority of it will be done by my computer. I need to find a better soft synth for instrument samples. Right now I'm using Garritan Personal Orchestra (sorry, I'm unsure of the version), but most of the wind instruments sound terribly cheesy. Is there a better package out there for more realistic sounding instruments?

I'm willing to upgrade my computer and my edition of Sibelius, but only if I can find a soft synth package that sounds better than your average Casio keyboard. Can anyone help me out?

andyg
Sibelius Version: 7.1.3 and 6.2
Operating System: Windows

Post by andyg » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:02 am

If you're serious enough about your music to try to write a film score that will be recorded and then used in a film, then you'll need to be serious about what you're using! Be ready to spend out some money and invest in quite a bit of time.

Upgrade to a newer version of Sibelius - the difference is massive and I don't think v4 can handle virtual instruments that well. (long time since I used it!)
Look at East West and Vienna software instruments - they're superb.
Now, be ready to upgrade - seriously upgrade - your hardware.