Sibelius Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").

Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby lacatedral » Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:41 pm

Whenever I type H or SHIFT+H to create crescendos or decrescendo and press P to play it doesn't happen anything. They appear in the music sheet but they have no effect, I also tried inputting Forte and Piano dynamics to test it but nothing.
Sibelius 7/ PC / 4Gb RAM / Windows 7 Ultimate.
User avatar
lacatedral
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:14 pm
Location: Alhambra

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby bobp » Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:55 pm

Use hairpins for crescendo/decrescendo. Select a note where the dynamic starts, hit "L".
Unless you want an accent. That is on the onscreen keypad.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop
bobp
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby lacatedral » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:28 pm

bobp wrote:Use hairpins for crescendo/decrescendo. Select a note where the dynamic starts, hit "L".
Unless you want an accent. That is on the onscreen keypad.


I enter a note in one bar and another in the next one, then clicked the first note, CTRL+E for expression then CTRL+PP. Then clic the second one and enter CTRL+F for forte.
Then I clic the first note and press L and select the hairpin, still, the crescendo does not seem to work, the volume goes from piano and then rightaway a forte.
Sibelius 7/ PC / 4Gb RAM / Windows 7 Ultimate.
User avatar
lacatedral
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:14 pm
Location: Alhambra

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby bobp » Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:10 pm

I agree that dynamics don't always work as I expect, depending on the voices used.
I just created a treble line piece with three whole notes. Note 1-pp, note 2-ff,note 3-pp with crescendo and decrescendo in between. There was a gradual increase and decrease in volume, but not as much of a change as there would be if I were playing in myself.
I'm note sure why you use ctrl before the dynamic. It just seems to print it in bold, which takes up space.
You can change the volume for dynamics in the dictionary.
What sound are you using where the hairpins don't work. I've noticed that they don't work well in vocals.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop
bobp
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby lacatedral » Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:55 pm

bobp wrote:I agree that dynamics don't always work as I expect, depending on the voices used.
I just created a treble line piece with three whole notes. Note 1-pp, note 2-ff,note 3-pp with crescendo and decrescendo in between. There was a gradual increase and decrease in volume, but not as much of a change as there would be if I were playing in myself.
I'm note sure why you use ctrl before the dynamic. It just seems to print it in bold, which takes up space.
You can change the volume for dynamics in the dictionary.
What sound are you using where the hairpins don't work. I've noticed that they don't work well in vocals.


I tried with violins, bassoons and flute but the crescendo does not work in any of them. Indeed, pressing CTRL before a dynamic bolds it but it's done for an aesthetic reason.
Sibelius 7/ PC / 4Gb RAM / Windows 7 Ultimate.
User avatar
lacatedral
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:14 pm
Location: Alhambra

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby andyg » Sat Nov 29, 2014 9:22 pm

Using Ctrl before the dynamic not only boldens it but puts it into the correct font for dynamics, so aesthetics is indeed the reason for using it.
andyg
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: UK

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby bobp » Sun Nov 30, 2014 7:34 pm

Check the play tab. Turn off Live Playback and Velocities. They cancel written dynamics.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop
bobp
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby lacatedral » Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:30 am

Tried turning off Live Playback and velocities, still the same.

I'm creating a tie (I think that's how you call it in english) in which the first note is Piano and then the last one is Forte.
If I erase the tie, the crescendo works but you can hear two separate notes instead of one played long enough.
Sibelius 7/ PC / 4Gb RAM / Windows 7 Ultimate.
User avatar
lacatedral
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:14 pm
Location: Alhambra

Re: Crescendo/descrescendo does not work.

Postby bobp » Thu Dec 04, 2014 12:09 am

OK, this gives me more to go on. You had not mentioned the tie before. Anything else? My Sibelius computer is out of commission for a day or two for maintenance.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop
bobp
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am



Similar topics


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Sibelius Books - Links - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2018 by C.M. Press, LLC