How do I set the # of measures per system?

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").
DianaDiazSing
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:10 am
Sibelius Version: Ultimate
Operating System: Windows

How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by DianaDiazSing » Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:08 am

It's really quite simple.

I want 4 measures per system. I'm looking for some sort of intuitive feature which allows me to set the number of measures per system and apply this to the whole document. (the music was imported from Photoscore.)

I'm not getting this from watching the videos. The videos aren't really all that helpful and my questions are not being answered. Is there someone I can call who can answer my very specific questions? It just seems like no one else on Sibelius is asking the things I'm asking about.

I'm getting so frustrated!!!

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

MikeLyons
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by MikeLyons » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:56 am

Just to reiterate:

When you import from PS into Sib, you need to unlock format ([ctrl]a followed by [ctrl][shift]u).

Sibelius defaults to 4 bars per system.

How much of the manual have you read? Don't get frustrated, RTFM!
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2020.1, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.1, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

DianaDiazSing
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:10 am
Sibelius Version: Ultimate
Operating System: Windows

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by DianaDiazSing » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:36 pm

So, I don't have a manual. I thought if I watched the get started videos, that I would be able to get this done and that there would be a help guide like in word. ahahahaha. The joke's on me. This isn't an intuitive program at all. And they are clearly interested in selling support services and that manual in addition to the program. I will have to figure out how to unlock the format. Thanks for your instructions.

bobp
Posts: 1180
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by bobp » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:38 pm

The manual is included in the software. Possibly under File/Help.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop

DianaDiazSing
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:10 am
Sibelius Version: Ultimate
Operating System: Windows

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by DianaDiazSing » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:49 pm

MikeLyons wrote:Just to reiterate:

When you import from PS into Sib, you need to unlock format ([ctrl]a followed by [ctrl][shift]u).

Sibelius defaults to 4 bars per system.
CLEVER!! That worked!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D

MikeLyons
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by MikeLyons » Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:46 am

If you press F1 from within Sibelius it will call up the manual. Same goes for PS. Both manuals are pdf files and were installed along with the programs.
DianaDiazSing wrote:CLEVER!! That worked!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D
No charge! :-D
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2020.1, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.1, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

jotunes
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:01 pm
Sibelius Version: 8
Operating System: Mac

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by jotunes » Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:26 pm

You can always highlight the number of measures you want per system and hit Shift-Option-M. If it's only a few pages it should only take a minute or two doing this 4 measures at a time.

DianaDiazSing
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:10 am
Sibelius Version: Ultimate
Operating System: Windows

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by DianaDiazSing » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:01 pm

jotunes wrote:You can always highlight the number of measures you want per system and hit Shift-Option-M. If it's only a few pages it should only take a minute or two doing this 4 measures at a time.
OMG, I'm going to need the manual to remember this. Thanks though.

MikeLyons
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: How do I set the # of measures per system?

Post by MikeLyons » Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:45 pm

["rod-for-own-back"]If you just do as I suggested, you will never need to do this![/"rod-for-own-back"]
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2020.1, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.1, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

Post Reply