MusicXML converter: new project

Discussion of converting to Sibelius from Finale.
jsmaster

Post by jsmaster » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:44 am

Well, I think this is getting pretty ridiculous. Sibelius should be able to convert to MusicXML without having to pay $200 for a plugin. I have some experience in coding, so I thought that I should start a project to create a free plugin for Sibelius to convert to MusicXML. I know the MusicXML file format is open, and learning the Manuscript language shouldn't be too difficult. Anyways, if anyone is interested in helping, please respond. I started a Google Code page at http://code.google.com/p/sibexport/ for the project, so it is open source, and anyone can contribute. Also, I know this is the "Converting from Finale" forum, but I felt this is the best place to put it.

EDIT: Added Google Code link

jsmaster

Post by jsmaster » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:16 pm

Yes, I did see that. Basically, I think the best way to go about it would be to use MuseScore's MusicXML exporter as a base, and use it to help write the plugin. I realize the Dolet is 20,000 lines of Manuscript, and I would definitely not reach that quality of work, at least for a while, but I still would like to give people an easy, free alternative to Dolet. From what I see, sib2ly won't help until Lilypond get's a MusicXML exporter, so that wouldn't do any good for right now.

musicxml

Post by musicxml » Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:59 am

Hi Aaron,

Your Google Code page starts with "Recordare is asking you to pay $195 for a plugin that lets you export to MusicXML in Sibelius."

Please be aware that Recordare is also the company that created the MusicXML format for use by any notation software developer. Without MusicXML, musicians would still be stuck with MIDI to transfer files between programs. Recordare's ability to continue to develop and improve the MusicXML format and software comes in large part from software sales.