Text Input Problem

Discuss general Sibelius issues here. Get help with Sibelius and Sibelius Support.
Post Reply
blobs85
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 11:58 pm
Sibelius Version: 7.1.3
Operating System: Mac

Text Input Problem

Post by blobs85 » Mon Dec 21, 2020 12:09 am

Hi forum,

I'm running Sibelius 7.1.3 on mac. Recently I've found I can't input any text, no titles, no expressions or techniques or chords. The fonts are installed properly, and when I press Apple + T it shows ready to input text, but when I click anywhere all it does is flash a small square and disappear, removing the ability to input any text. Or if I click on the stave and press Apple + E, I'm just left with a small square.

I've never had this problem before. Any help would be massively appreciated
Attachments
2.png
2.png (47.44 KiB) Viewed 5078 times

Re: Text Input Problem

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

MikeLyons
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2020.6/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by MikeLyons » Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:52 am

Are you on Big Sur or catalina? These later OSs from Apple have basic incompatibilities with earlier versions of Sibelius. Catalina is incompatible until Sib 2019.6 (?) Big Sur is not compatible with any OS earlier than 2020.9.

Don't blame Avid or Sib for this, blame Apple.
Last edited by MikeLyons on Tue Dec 22, 2020 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2021.2, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

blobs85
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 11:58 pm
Sibelius Version: 7.1.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by blobs85 » Tue Dec 22, 2020 12:24 am

Thanks for the reply. I'm on Big Sur. That explains it. How frustrating.
I've found a pretty annoying solution though. I open up a Sibelius file which already has all the text in it (dynamics etc) and then I copy the ones I need into the new file I'm working on. Not great, but better than nothing.

MikeLyons
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2020.6/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by MikeLyons » Tue Dec 22, 2020 8:33 am

Well, don't blame Sibelius, blame Apple.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2021.2, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

MusicOnetoOne
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:32 pm
Sibelius Version: 2018.7
Operating System: Mac

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by MusicOnetoOne » Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:34 pm

Hi

Did you solve this issue with the text input. Ive got the same problem.

Has anyone got any suggestions - except blaming apple?

Thanks

RJ

MikeLyons
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2020.6/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by MikeLyons » Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:40 pm

The only possible solutions are these:

1. Go back to a previous MacOS that supports your version of Sibelius.
2. Upgrade your version of Sibelius to the latest Sibelius Ultimate (If you have Sib 6.x/7.x or 8.x any other option is a serious downgrade.)
3. Get a Windows PC.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2021.2, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

rimore01
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 6:51 am
Sibelius Version: 7.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by rimore01 » Mon Mar 29, 2021 3:34 pm

Mike, I followed your advice and tried option 2 and purchased and downloaded Ultimate, but for the life of me, I cannot get Ultimate to activate. I have tried everything. I posted the activation problem as a new question on forum, so no need to answer this post. And yes, I won't blame Sibelius for the text problem, but I think Avid can make the activation process a little less cumbersome!

MikeLyons
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2020.6/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by MikeLyons » Mon Mar 29, 2021 8:28 pm

All you get from Avid is "Well we wanted to standardise it across our entire platform!" - as if that justifies it.

It's an awful system, badly executed and I hate it with a passion and a vengeance!
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2021.2, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

brooklynmothra
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 1:19 am
Sibelius Version: 8.5.0
Operating System: Mac

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by brooklynmothra » Tue Apr 27, 2021 1:20 am

I have the same problem. On Big Sur. Would love to be able to input text and expressions! Any workaround appreciated.

MikeLyons
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2020.6/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by MikeLyons » Tue Apr 27, 2021 7:55 am

As has been said above - your only option is to backtrack your Big Sur to an OS that supports your version of Sibelius or upgrade to the latest version of Sibelius Ultimate.

This is Apple's fault - not Avid's - and it's not often you will hear me giving Avid the benefit of the doubt.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2021.2, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

inesmaya
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 6:37 pm
Sibelius Version: 8.3.0
Operating System: Mac

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by inesmaya » Mon Oct 11, 2021 6:41 pm

Same problem here. Do you guys think there is any chance this problem will solve on its own?

Restoring my computer to a previous operating system sounds pretty complicated and risky, so for now I'm stuck with the "copy-paste" solution.

Or am I stuck with having to buy the latest version of Sibelius for the long run?

Thanks!

MikeLyons
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2020.6/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by MikeLyons » Mon Oct 11, 2021 8:56 pm

Cheaper than buying sibelius ultimate might be to get a PC. Windows 11 still happily runs Sib 6.2 and 7.5 as well as the later versions.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2021.2, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD, Note Performer 3.3.2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others. mike@mike-lyons.co.uk

andyg
Posts: 1551
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:55 pm

Re: Text Input Problem

Post by andyg » Tue Oct 12, 2021 7:55 pm

I'd agree with Mike on this one.

I bought a refurbished Dell laptop a few months ago. i5 CPU, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD. 1920 x 1200 screen. 3xUSB3 ports, 1xUSB C, LAN and HDMI ports. Legit copy Windows 10 pre-installed (though we did do a clean re-install of Windows 10 to get of anything Dell-related and then did a little 'slimming down' of Windows). Cost? Just £220 and £25 for a good Internet Security suite. No keypad, so I just plug in a USB keyboard. Will run 7.1.3 and 6.2 very snappily indeed.

You can't deactivate or activate on line, but an email to one of the Sibelius staff on the official forum will get things started.

At that price you could afford to dedicate the laptop just to Sibelius. And if there's nothing that you need in later versions of Sibelius, you never need to spend out again.

Post Reply