Ratchet won't stop

Discussion of playback and midi issues go here.
paulfgibson2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:11 pm
Sibelius Version: 7.5
Operating System: Mac

Ratchet won't stop

Post by paulfgibson2 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:00 pm

I didn't see any mention of this when I searched. I have a largish score and just added a change of instrument to the crotales player: a ratchet. While it plays back perfectly by itself, when I play all instruments together, the ratchet continues to play without pause. Quite annoying. I'm using Note Performer 3, Sib. 7.5, Windows 10. Anybody else experience such a thing?

Re: Ratchet won't stop

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

MikeLyons
Posts: 624
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Ratchet won't stop

Post by MikeLyons » Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:11 am

Ratchet is not an instrument I commonly use, but if you place a midi NoteOff ~Opitchnum, velocity after the note this may work.
Pitchnum is the MIDI key number - middle c is 60, you can make the velocity anything you like between 0 and 127 as it is usually ignored.

Just a thought, this could happen if the note has a tie to a rest (Laissez Vibrer) the note will hang. The same principle applies - or you could use the laissez vibrer plugin.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.9, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD Note Performer 3, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

paulfgibson2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:11 pm
Sibelius Version: 7.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Ratchet won't stop

Post by paulfgibson2 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:16 pm

Thank you so much, Mike. I think your solution is my only hope. Unfortunately, my MIDI chops are scant. Could you please show me an example of the correct MIDI code (spaces, commas, exactly what it looks like). Since it is a single line staff, what pitch do I use?
Thank you for your invaluable help!

MikeLyons
Posts: 624
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Ratchet won't stop

Post by MikeLyons » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:09 pm

Select the barline or rest after the note that's hanging on and type, in technique text ~Onote,64 or ~Onote,0
Note is the note number of the pitch used for the ratchet. Middle c is 64the c above is 64+12 = 76, the c above that is 64+24 = 88 and so on.
Don't forget the tilde will make the text invisible after you click out of the edit mode.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.9, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD Note Performer 3, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

paulfgibson2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:11 pm
Sibelius Version: 7.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Ratchet won't stop

Post by paulfgibson2 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:45 pm

Mike, so far it doesn't work. I wrote this: ~075,0. Sibelius says the pitch of the ratchet is B4. Is that 75?
What else might I be doing wrong?
thanks again!

MikeLyons
Posts: 624
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Ratchet won't stop

Post by MikeLyons » Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:28 pm

Make sure it's a capital letter O not a zero (0).

I don't have a MIDI reference here, but I think middle C in Sibelius can be either C3 or C4.You'll have to check which.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.9, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD Note Performer 3, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

paulfgibson2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:11 pm
Sibelius Version: 7.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Ratchet won't stop

Post by paulfgibson2 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:03 pm

Thank you so much, Mike. Will be able to experiment with it tomorrow.
Cheers!

paulfgibson2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:11 pm
Sibelius Version: 7.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Ratchet won't stop

Post by paulfgibson2 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 7:39 pm

All attempts failed. I'm going to enter notes for ratchet that don't play back. Thanks anyway.

bobp
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am

Re: Ratchet won't stop

Post by bobp » Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:32 pm

In the old days, there were three configuration folders to delete ( Sibelius rebuilds them on restart) that sometimes fixed things like this. I haven't had to do it in a long time.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop

Post Reply