Choosing a MIDI device for playback

Discussion of playback and midi issues go here.
gfkeogh

Post by gfkeogh » Sat Apr 23, 2011 1:23 am

Hello folks, I've just joined the forum. I'm planning to purchase Sibelius 6 within a few weeks so I can fulfil my childhood dream of being able to write orchestral and brass band scores in the comfort of my own home and hear the results played back with realism. I'm a musician and software developer in real life, but I'm completely out of touch with MIDI and what devices I could use to synthesise realistic instrumental ensemble sounds.

A friend of mine has a Roland Sound Canvas that is almost 20 years old and produces beautiful instrumental sounds. He offered to give it to me but it runs in the obsolete COM port and it's so old that it must be now replaced by a modern equivalent with vastly improved power and features.

So that's my question: What device(s) should I consider purchasing so I can get realistic polyphonic synthesised playback? It will be used on a Windows 7 64-bit machine. I don't need any features beyond realistic playback.

Sorry to be a bit vague with the question, but I've been running web searches for days on this subject, and I'm simply confused by the mess of results. I'm hoping someone can cut through all of the confusion and help me focus on what I need.

Cheers, Greg

andyg
Sibelius Version: 7.1.3 and 6.2
Operating System: Windows

Post by andyg » Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:08 am

The world is now virtual, and if you think the Roland is good, you're in for a treat. Edirol made (maybe still make) a virtual Sound Canvas, for example.