No playback from ossia staff

Discussion of playback and midi issues go here.
gonebon
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:09 pm

No playback from ossia staff

Post by gonebon » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:42 pm

Hi.
I added some ossia staffs for variations when the section repeats.
So, I set the original staff to play on 1st pass and mute on 2nd. That works ok
I set the ossia staff to mute on 1st pass and play on 2nd, but that doesn't. It mutes on both.
Any ideas? Thank you
Attachments
Sin título.png
Sin título.png (193.83 KiB) Viewed 1347 times

Re: No playback from ossia staff

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

MikeLyons
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: No playback from ossia staff

Post by MikeLyons » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:07 pm

You would really need to let us see the actual file, not a pic of part of it. There are so many variables.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.9, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD Note Performer 3, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

gonebon
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: No playback from ossia staff

Post by gonebon » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:20 pm

Sorry! Here it is: (it seems I can't attach it directly)
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vCe7gZ ... sp=sharing

MikeLyons
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: No playback from ossia staff

Post by MikeLyons » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:33 am

OK, I think I've sussed it.

The ossia staff in the repeat bar does not have a return to Soprano sax, so it is still "no instrument hidden" which has no sound id. This seems to turn off playback on the repeat. If you do one of the following:

Instead of just relying on the ossia, select it from after the bar with notes into the 1st time bar and change instrument to "no instrument (hidden)" this will place a change back to saxophone.

Or, with the existing music, select the last bar of the hidden instrument and insert an instrument change to soprano/Alto/etc sax in the last bar. You will have to move it to the end of the system (until the end repeat barline disappears from the ossia staff and the staff itself goes back to being invisible. I have done the sop sax one for you. You'll probably also need to use optimize to get the staves back where they were.

You can post sib files if you zip them first like this one.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.9, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD Note Performer 3, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

gonebon
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: No playback from ossia staff

Post by gonebon » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:04 pm

Great Mike! Got it and working. Thanks a lot for taking the time :D

Post Reply