dynamical markings not playing back

Discussion of playback and midi issues go here.
JulianC
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:16 am
Sibelius Version: dont know
Operating System: Windows

dynamical markings not playing back

Post by JulianC » Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:18 am

I have been using Sibelius for about a month. I have written a full orchestral piece for Sibelius Sounds instruments but cannot get Sibelius to properly observe dynamical markings either text or symbols (i.e. cresc dimm fff pp etc)
Is Sibelius supposed to observe these markings when it plays back a score where they have been placed.

Re: dynamical markings not playing back

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

JulianC
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:16 am
Sibelius Version: dont know
Operating System: Windows

Re: dynamical markings not playing back

Post by JulianC » Thu Aug 01, 2019 6:16 am

Re my query.
The problem seems to be to do with my midi keyboard. When I have it is switched off and open up a new project I can get Sibelius to play back Cresc Dim pp ff etc
So I seem to have resolved the issue...just switch the keyboard off.

Is there any way of resetting all midi controller information in a piece of music.
I have a full score which won't play back dynamics properly because, I suspect, my midi keyboard has sent Sibelius a lot of intermittent midi data
Does anyone out there know how can I see what controller data is present in a Sibelius score (or if this is indeed possible at all)

MikeLyons
Posts: 624
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: Ult. 2019.9/7.51/6.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: dynamical markings not playing back

Post by MikeLyons » Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:28 am

I assume you are playing back using Sib sounds?

Turn off LIVE PLAYBACK. You will lose any dynamic expression that you have played, but it WILL play the dynamics marked in the score.

CC commands are inserted as hidden text. Click View-->Invisibles-->Hidden objects to see them.Go into panorama mode ([shift]p) and click the first one to select it then press [ctrl][shift]a to select all others. This may cause problems if you have other technique text, such as pizz. In this case, use advanced filter to filter for a tilde ~ only the CC text will have this.
Attachments
advasnced filter.jpg
advasnced filter.jpg (175.15 KiB) Viewed 280 times
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.9, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD Note Performer 3, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

Post Reply