Only bass and treble clefs available in Sibelius First?

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").
ridecaster
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:11 pm
Sibelius Version: first
Operating System: Windows

Only bass and treble clefs available in Sibelius First?

Post by ridecaster » Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:18 pm

Hi I'm writing a solo cello piece and want to change to tenor clef, but the clef dialogue box (pressing "q" or from the ribbon) only gives me the option of selecting treble or bass clef. I can use treble clef, but tenor would be better. :D Any ideas? Does the First version not support tenor clef? The User Guide seems to indicate that it does, but if so, I have not found a way to add it to the dialogue. Is there a keyboard method of doing this (not pressing "q")

Re: Only bass and treble clefs available in Sibelius First?

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

bobp
Posts: 1134
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am

Re: Only bass and treble clefs available in Sibelius First?

Post by bobp » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:16 pm

What does "User Guide seems to indicate that it does," mean? "First is so stripped down that I wouldn't be surprised if it only had two clefs.
In previous versions, a right click would bring up a menu that included "clef".
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop

MikeLyons
Posts: 549
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: 8.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Only bass and treble clefs available in Sibelius First?

Post by MikeLyons » Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:31 am

You can find this information here: https://www.avid.com/sibelius-ultimate/ ... l-features

Although it doesn't specificall mention clefs, the implication is that these are only available in Ultimate.

I think you'll find that a free program like First will give you a less than satisfactory experience.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.1, Windows 10, 8MB RAM, 7TB 7200RPM Storage, Note Performer 2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

Post Reply