Why don't the dynamics change?

Discuss general Sibelius issues here. Get help with Sibelius and Sibelius Support.
screechy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:51 pm
Sibelius Version: 8
Operating System: Windows

Why don't the dynamics change?

Post by screechy » Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:15 pm

Hello Sibelius Forums! :D I've been trying to get my libraries to work in Sibelius, which has worked well up until now. Just as the title says, I use Cinebrass and when I notate dynamics, it does nothing and just plays the same dynamic. Am i missing something, or does my library just not support dynamics? Any and all help will be appreciated :mrgreen:

Re: Why don't the dynamics change?

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

MikeLyons
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: 8.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Why don't the dynamics change?

Post by MikeLyons » Thu Nov 22, 2018 6:40 am

HI,

AFAIK, Cinebrass should obey dynamics. It's not one of my libraries but, as I understand it, if you put a dynamic in the score it should 'just work'.

Do you have Live velocity/playback turned on? If so, it could be lessening the effect of the velocity changes (or cancelling them out altogether) on playback. Also, you need to make sure that crescs and dims have an ending dynamic which is close to the start/end of the hairpin or they will suddenly jump to the new dynamic on the next note. Sibelius will not obey 'cresc' or 'dim' without a hidden hairpin.

Another thing that can cause the seeming lack of dynamics is if you are using words like waltz/valse, swing etc or if you have the Play-->Performance set to anything other than meccanico. You can also try changing the setting in the attached screenshot.

Hope this helps.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.9, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD Note Performer 3, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

bobp
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am

Re: Why don't the dynamics change?

Post by bobp » Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:35 pm

FWIW, if you add "cresc" and "dim" with the "Line" function, I believe you can define it in the Inspector without using hidden hairpin, which you could also define.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop

MikeLyons
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm
Sibelius Version: 8.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Why don't the dynamics change?

Post by MikeLyons » Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:40 pm

Hi, Bob,

I tried to define a new line with cresc and it wasn't for having it. The direction would work, but there was no way to get rid of the hairpin (I based it on the hairpin line). If you know better, please tell me how.
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.9, Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 8TB 7200RPM Storage, 2TB SSD Note Performer 3, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.

bobp
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am

Re: Why don't the dynamics change?

Post by bobp » Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:22 am

Well drat! Mike, I as thinking of tempo changes, not volume changes. Thanks for catching me on that.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop

Post Reply