Sibelius Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Adding rests

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").

Adding rests

Postby bmunger » Sun Jul 08, 2018 1:17 am

I scanned some music with PhotoScore and imported in Sibelius. Needs cleanup. I am new to Sibelius and am stuck trying to add a rest that didn't come over in the scan. I know how to remove beams if that helps, but can't figure how to add the rest in there.

Here is the original
Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 5.41.07 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 5.41.07 PM.png (20.43 KiB) Viewed 65 times


Sibelius version
Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 5.42.48 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 5.42.48 PM.png (18.87 KiB) Viewed 65 times
User avatar
bmunger
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:46 am

Re: Adding rests

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Adding rests

Postby KJ_Palmer » Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:32 am

Are there any rhythm errors left in the Photoscore scan? It can be very difficult to correct them in Sibelius as they will have a knock-on effect in the score or at least that bar. Sure you can correct those notes but subsequent notes will get messed up as something else doesn't 'add up' rhythmically in the score.

In general you should clear as many errors as possible in Photoscore before sending to Sibelius. That way you'll get a good Photoscore version and minimise tidying up in Sibelius.
Sibelius 6.2, 7.5, Windows 10 laptop
KJ_Palmer
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 6:22 am
Location: London, UK



Similar topics


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Sibelius Books - Links - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2018 by C.M. Press, LLC