Sibelius Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Assigning Instruments to Staves

Sibelius beginners can discuss all things Sibelius here ("how do I...?").

Assigning Instruments to Staves

Postby Myuserid » Sat Dec 22, 2018 12:55 am

OK, I may be stupid but all the documentation I've read says how easy it is to change instruments. HOME > Instruments > Change. The problem is, the Instruments and Change menu items don't exist. Instead, I see HOME > Add or Remove (Instruments). I don't see any way to assign an instrument to a track/stave or any other section of music. In fact, all I hear is a toy piano playing back my notes. All I want to do is import a MIDI file, assign instruments and play it back. Any help would be appreciated. NOTE: I'm currently using a trial version of the product.
Myuserid
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 12:46 am

Re: Assigning Instruments to Staves

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Assigning Instruments to Staves

Postby MikeLyons » Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:14 am

There are several issues here:
1. If you import a midi file it will import as a piano unless there is some facility in the creating program to send a Program control
2. A lot depends on what type of MID file it is (There are 2)
3. What tier of sibelius are you on? (Choices - Sibelius First/Sibelius/Sibelius Ultimate)
Sib First is so limited it should have died at birth
Sibelius is severely disabled
Sibelius is the only version with all of its faculties.

Check here https://www.avid.com/sibelius/compariso ... l-features
Sib 6.2, 7.5 and 2019.1, Windows 10, 8MB RAM, 7TB 7200RPM Storage, Note Performer 2, EWQLSO, EWQLSC, Harmony Assistant and some others.
MikeLyons
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:20 pm

Re: Assigning Instruments to Staves

Postby bobp » Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:38 am

Then you might be looking at the wrong documentation. Hit "M" on your computer keyboard. If that brings up the "Mixer" then that's where you would change instruments in an already loaded score. Look up "Mixer" in your manual. It is easy, but requires a few steps.
In your defense, you looked up "change instruments" and were taken to instructions for changing instruments in the middle of a score. There's a better way to do that, also.
You want to assign new instruments to each staff.
Bob Porter
Sibelius 7.5, W10,i5,16 GB ram,desktop
bobp
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:53 am



Similar topics


Return to Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Sibelius Books - Links - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2019 by C.M. Press, LLC